Cast .22 in a contender.

• 7.2K Views
  • Last Post 16 September 2018
Escalante posted this 16 March 2015

I would like to start casting for my .22 Hornet and my .223 Rem. Both have 10 inch barrels. Is there any bullet that will preform well in these two calibers? I know the 22's are hard to cast for. With the price of .22 LR. I think casting for the .22's is the way to go. BTW I have been casting for thirty years. Thanks in advance. Rich.  

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 16 March 2015

what twist in your 22 s ?

i had great luck with a 22 wcf and a 22 baby neidner in some high walls ... but only about 4 moa in my rem 222 and ruger 1 in 22-250 . all those results without extensive effort, and 45-55 gr cast bullets . i think it a co-incidence that the older rifles shot better groups ...

btw, 4 moa is still a fun plinking load at 50 yards standing ...

loads were with 4227 or unique ...although some early loads used 1204 ( g ) .

ken

Attached Files

gpidaho posted this 16 March 2015

I am only keeping a couple 22 rim fires the 22 center fires are more fun to shoot anyway. I have a 22-250 T/C Encore that I sometimes plink with using the Lee 22Bator bullet 55gr over 5.5 or 6gr Tite Group works pretty well in my 223s also. One is an eight twist, one is a nine twist and another with a twelve. Like Ken says “Fun plinking” GP

Attached Files

John Alexander posted this 17 March 2015

The best cast bullet design for a 22 cf will depend on the twist.  If the 222 has the standard one in 14” twist I have had the best luck with the 415 design.  The Bator bullet also is reported to work well as gpidaho has noted.