Want to Build a Bunny Gun

• 2.5K Views
  • Last Post 27 January 2016
drhall762 posted this 17 January 2016

I have gotten bitten by the Bunny Gun Bug. Too much time reading about them here is the most logical choice for the cause.

I want to build one in .32 S&W Long. Now before all the “WHY” questions get asked, the answer is “Just Because.” I am a machinist by trade and am not afraid of the machining at all. Have been doing gunsmithing in some form or another, on and off for 30 years.

The real question I have is: Can I use a .308 barrel? From my reading it seems that it is not a problem as I have seen it referenced in several areas. I am going to shoot cast bullets and have no intention of ever putting a jacket bullet into a case.

Thoughts and ideas please.

Dave

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ed Harris posted this 17 January 2016

Any good .30 cal.barrel of any common twist will work. I have one built on cut off M1 Garand barrel with throat like 7.62x39 to shoot 155-grain .30-30 plainbased bullets subsonic. Another I have is a 16” twist which is a bit more accurate with common .32-20 cast bullets. If you have questions, ask away!

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

Thanks. Going to look for a suitable donor this week.

Attached Files

Well, I dug out a barrel. Brand new Heavy Match barrel in .30-338. Not sure where I picked it up but I can easily shorten it by the current length of the chamber and have plenty left over.

Attached Files

Ed Harris posted this 18 January 2016

The .30-338 is probably 10” twist, so I could recommend Accurate 31-155D with 6 grains of Alliant #2400 in a suitable throat, reamer used for mine has SAAMI min. body for .32 S&W Long with throat following the form of the SAAMI dimensioned chamber for the 7.62x39.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files