32-20 Chamber Dimensions

• 4K Views
  • Last Post 22 February 2016
dedseven posted this 21 February 2016

Greetings to all,

I have read this forum from time to time over the last few years with great interest and now finally have a reason to post. I am a novice at the cast bullet game and am here seeking advice. I have worked in the firearms trade and have a good working knowledge of barrels and the methods used to produce and chamber them.

I am about to begin work on a project rifle that I will use for “pistol cartridge” lever action silhouette shooting. It is what I call a “gunsmith special", a Winchester '92 in 25-20 with a rotten bore and missing stocks. I will rebore and rechamber the rifle to 32-20. I will be purchasing a chamber reamer for this project and would like to get some guidance from this forums members regarding optimum chamber dimensions for use with cast bullets and smokeless powder. Combining a standard chamber (I have a SAAMI spec reamer) with current production Starline 32-20 brass results in well over .040” gap between the case mouth and the end of the chamber neck. It is my understanding that this is not desirable when shooting cast bullets. I would also like to discuss the dimensions of the throat area of the reamer. It seems that most chamber reamers cut for cartridges that were originally black powder rounds feature a relatively shallow straight taper from the chamber neck diameter down to bore (land) diameter. Chambers for more recent cartridges typically have a more abrupt (90 degree included angle) step-down from the chamber neck to a throat section which is at or just a few thousandths of an inch over groove diameter, followed by a gentle leade angle which engraves the bullet as it passes. To summarize, if you were going to specify a custom reamer in 32-20 for use with Starline brass, smokeless powder and cast bullets, what would it measure and why?