groundhog 30-06 load

• 1K Views
  • Last Post 22 April 2018
loophole posted this 10 April 2017

Howdy, boys.  I've been shooting cast bullets for forty years but mostly in muzzle loaders, lever guns, BPCR, and revolvers.  Recently I bought a pre-model 70 Winchester--1939 target model with a  with non-factory heavy barrel.  With a unertl 15x scope off a solid bench it shoots 1-2” five shot groups at 100 yards using Harris 2400 and Red Dot loads with a 200gr bore rider gc bullet.  About 50% larger with a 150-170 fn bullet.

I can shoot the rifle pretty well at 50 yards with Lyman iron sights, and I figured I'd have some fun in the ground hog postal match.  I tried shooting a number of pb bullets with loads I got from Harris writings and off this site, but with terrible results.  4-6' groups, or worse.

I need any help I can get finding a respectable load to shoot in this match, and I don't have much range time to work something up. 

Any help will be appreciated.

Steve K

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
45 2.1 posted this 10 April 2017

A softer 8 to 10 BHN 180gr. to 200 gr. bullet sized about 0.312” is your friend with 11 to 12 gr. of Unique.

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 10 April 2017

... plinking accuracy ... since plinking is my favorite thing to do with old rifles ... i admit to getting a kick out of this groundhog shoot ... even though a stout deer load will kill these flat woodchucks .... we might ... with our plain base pursuit ... find an economical new approach to * plinkables *  .....    you would think 6 grains of bullseye and any old scrap bullet you had forgot you had would be good for 50 yards... right ?  

any good loads with medium powders and fillers to make them burn consistently ? ... hey, plinkers were an art back about 1902 .... but of course we had   * no. 80 * and * bulk smokeless *  figured out ....