Anyone tried HI-TEK-LUBE?

• 15K Views
  • Last Post 24 July 2015
bill_clancy posted this 15 October 2013

I've been casting for almost 30 years, mostly pistol these days, and I've tried lots of lube methods over time. This one seems to be the best of all! Hi-tek is a two part liquid that is applied much like Lee tumble lube, but you bake it in a convection for about ten minutes. Best done twice. It sounds a bit complex, but it really works well, and comes in several colors. It's hard coating, slippery, and reduces the leading in my Glock to nil. In addition it doesn't smoke! I use 3.9 gr of tightgroup with a 125 gr Lee TL mold, and couldn't be happier. I cast & lubed 300 bullets yesterday.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 15 October 2013

i have been following the discussion on BOOLITS (sp?) ... but havent tried it, mostly because it hasnt had reported success in rifles ...especially with both accuracy and velocity at the same time .

also, i dont get leading in any of my handguns with leeliq, nra50-50, or even walmart lithium ...

however, i might try it ...is there a source in the states for hi-tek ? i am interested in adding a filler ( g ) .

ken

Attached Files

bill_clancy posted this 15 October 2013

http://www.bayoubullets.net/Coating.html

A little goes a long long way. You use a ratio of 1 part catalyst, to 5 parts color, to 5 parts acetone. Probably a tablespoon of the total mix did about 250 bullets.

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 15 October 2013

thanks ...we would be interested in any results you might like to report using the hi-tek.

also, is the value of it because of better performance of some kind ...or because it's cleaner to handle.

do you think the extra thickness serves as a gas check ?

interesting ...

ken

i do think the colors look great too !!

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 15 October 2013

Is there some advantage to smokeless? Ric

Attached Files