X-ray lead

• 7.6K Views
  • Last Post 23 July 2014
csparks1106 posted this 31 March 2014

I've got a friend who said he has a bunch of x-ray lead he was going to get rid of. Is it pure lead, or a mix?   Thanks. Charlie

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Brodie posted this 31 March 2014

X-Ray lead (lead shielding from around x-ray facilities) is plenty pure for our purposes, as is plumbers lead.  People get all excited because the reference is for “pure” lead. If you want it really pure -greater than 99.8%- you would have to buy REAGENT GRADE LEAD from a chemical supply house.  The cost would keep you from casting very many bullets.  Brodie

B.E.Brickey

Attached Files

csparks1106 posted this 31 March 2014

Thanks Brodie. I guess that's what I meant. I'll be honest, I am just learning all this and haven't done any mixing of leads yet. Only used ww for 38 special loads so far. Just looking to dabble a little farther into this exciting new hobby that my wife rolls her eyes at.

Attached Files

Brodie posted this 31 March 2014

document.write('/images/emoticons/bowsmilie.gif');

B.E.Brickey

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 01 April 2014

You need to check what kind of “X-ray” lead this is. I got some from inside the sheetrocked walls and it was coated with zinc to resist corrosion. It is worthless for making bullets. Ric

Attached Files

csparks1106 posted this 01 April 2014

Rick, how do I determine if it's got zinc? Thanks

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 01 April 2014

First the stuff I had look like it had a galvanized surface where it had not been bent. Second, I melted a pound or so and tried to make bullets. Didn't work, so sold the rest for scrap. This stuff was about 1/8” think in 4 ft by 4 foot sheets. All of the bricks of X-ray shielding had been fine, but of varying composition, there are no standards for this. Nor have I had problems with the foot square “tiles” that are 1 inch thick. HTH, Ric

Attached Files