Does Velocity ES and SD really truly matter in life??

• 4.3K Views
  • Last Post 06 April 2014
corerf posted this 02 April 2014

New thread started. Anybody have a bit they would like to offer that is relevant to the “relevance” of Velocity Extreme Spread and Velocity Standard Deviation Data? I finally figured out after 34 years of shooting what Sectional Density and Ballistic Coefficient are (SD and BC), they really had me over a barrel!! Still dont know what they do to make my bullets land on a bean can in the back yard, but I know they apply somehow.

Im a noob and dont have a concept as to what the relevance of these letters ES and SD have to target shooting and hunting. I read all sorts of things about them but they indeed are way over my head and I'd like a primer on ES and SD (velocity) so that I may flourish in my reloading practices. Please no conjecture, that wont help me. I need data, that can be studied. Maybe fine reading material by a scientist or an industry figure or leader. Seems everyone has an opinion and opinions are like the wind, widely varying and everchanging. Personal experiences such as “The day the two blackbirds flew over, my SD or ES changed and groups got bigger” probably should not be cited. Also those instances when the ES or SD changed for your buckshot shotgun load and the pattern made a different funny picture, that should also be omitted. Probably not relevant.

Thanks in advance for your input. I appreciate all relevant responses. corerf

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Tom Acheson posted this 02 April 2014

Kind of makes you think of an old saying....data always trumps a smart guy with an opinion...

Attached Files

Chargar posted this 02 April 2014