Ladle vs. bottom pour

• 11K Views
  • Last Post 11 January 2019
Longone posted this 20 April 2014

If this topic needs to be moved by all means help yourself. I was pouring over the results pages and have been wondering about this for some time. Is it just their set up that some use a ladle and some use a bottom pour? Is there more consistent results with one over the other?  I have been using my RCBS ProMelt for many years and have been very satisfied but just had to ask.  So many questions.  :D Longone

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 06 January 2019

Max503, you said,    "I believe, those lines are caused by insufficient heat."

Those lines are textbook "cold short" in metallurgy science.

I am a retired casting analyst, cold short is caused by casting below ideal temp for the alloy. Solidus plus 100 degrees F is the ideal casting temp for every bullet alloy with 1-2 cavity molds, and proportionally hotter for more cavities. The shininess of your bullet is also a type of cold short. The alloy cooled before it filled the mold enough to register mold surface detail. It cooled to a shine instead of maximum mold fill-out.

If you cast at the ideal temp and drop bullets 3-4 times a minute, your problem defects from "cold short" will be gone. Your error is that you missed a basic of casting.

REMEDY:

Establish the ideal temp for your alloy simply. Run your melt with a thermometer in it, when the metal is very hot and well above the point of fluidity, say maximum for your pot...Then disconnect power. Note the very first sign of surface hardening (this will appear as crystallization) and record the temperature. Add 100 degrees F and that is your ideal pot temp for 1-2 cavity bullet molds dropping 3-4 times a minute. It is that simple. Follow the basic rules of casting. You missed that by a whack.

A velvety or slightly frosty looking bullet surface as cast indicates good fill-out and good thermodynamics for casting your alloy.