New to the forum

• 1.6K Views
  • Last Post 23 July 2015
pondercat posted this 21 July 2015

Hi,  I'm new to the forum but not casting. I live just outside Flagstaff Arizona and have for 30+ years.  I've been casting bullets for about twenty years, but always find I still have much to learn!!!  I am currently venturing into (well trying to venture into) the very fine art of paper patching.  My first few attempts were somewhat dismal at best, but I am starting to achieve at least some still limited, but positive results.  I cast and shoot several calibers (pistol and rifle) from .270 through 50 caliber BP and have just ordered a mold and sizing dies for a 55 grain .22 caliber to push through my .22-250. I have not cast for a caliber this small, but good results with the .270 has prompted me to go smaller.  I am looking forward to picking some of your brains for info on casting/shooting it.  Small does seem to have its own unique set of challenges that must be overcome!  Once I start shooting cast out of that gun, I can safely say, with the exception of my .22 long rifles, that I cast for everything I shoot (which is a lot) and will have liberated myself from the need for store-bought jacketed bullets.  I hope everyone here is well and I hope I have some knowledge that I can contribute. CHEERS!!! :D

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
mckg posted this 21 July 2015

Welcome aboard pondercat!

Attached Files

muley posted this 21 July 2015

Welcome aboard Pondercat. being u are fairly close to the NRA Whittington Ctr, come on

over Sept. 10-13 2015 to the Coors Range and shoot with us, or come and talk with the

shooters and pick their minds. they are a good group.  bring that .270 and shoot in the

Hunting rifle class.

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 21 July 2015