30cal/300gr sub loads

• 4.8K Views
  • Last Post 04 October 2015
EvanGuy posted this 03 August 2015

Hi, I'm new to this site, I'm also new to reloading, I'm a machinist by trade and love making everything i can for projects i get involved in. most times i try and make too much of my projects and get over whelmed. i hope this doesn't happen in this case. well i have some questions about the load I'm making and the bullets I'm casting and my practices. I'm new to this and i feel i may be in over my head, seemed easy enough until i started looking into it, and now I'm realizing i have lots to learn, every question i ask my self i google it and that opens up hundreds more questions.

first off, ill tell you what I'm doing (sorry for the wall of text ill try to keep it short) i have a few 303's one is a lithgow 1917 no1mk3 and a 1911 no1mk3 parker hail custom #1, i love the PH and the lithgow has a heavy duty barrel factory fitted to it. i also have a 1918 no1mk3 .22 trainer but thats a different story

i want to shoot my 303 ALOT more often and while it is legal for me to shoot all day in my yard, i feel bad for my neighbors, while i cant see their houses from my house i know they can here a center fire going off.

so I'm very interested in reduced loads, i bought some h4895 and loaded 123 surplus ammo with 27 gr as per their website, it was nice to shoot but loud and alot more then i needed to plinking and keeping critters off my farm, realistically a 9mm,45,357,44,410 in a rifle would be nice but i don't have one Nor the money. and my .22 cooey 39 just doesn't cut it, while i love shooting it i need a little more kick and impact.