RCBS Chargemaster Combo

• 1.1K Views
  • Last Post 06 January 2016
mike morrison posted this 01 January 2016

I have a RCBS Chargemaster Combo that I have had for about 12 years. It has served me well. Recently it started not dispencing to the amount put in. It was about three grains short. This amount reguardless of the amount entered. A call to RCBS and visit with the person who takes the calls suggest that it is the electronic scale we tried several ;things and it involved several calls. Final was the scale is bad and they do not have any as new ones are coming out. seems this is a common problem. Next I have used the scale to weight charges from a beam scale and it is dead on. I think the problem is in the dispencing or the communication from the charger and the scale.Looking for any info if anyone has had/resolved this problem or a way/place to check it out. If it can be fixed reasonable would be my first choice. New ones are pricy. Help.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Brodie posted this 01 January 2016

Mike, I do not have a chargemaster, but I think that you are spot on about where the problem is.  If it were mine I would call RCBS again and tell them what you have related here.  If they will not repair or replace the chargemaster then I would either run some kind of solvent, blow air into the works or just set the weights to 3gr. above what I want.  As a last resort find a way to break in (non destructively) and clean the guts well.  My worry about just setting the weight 3gr. heavy would be if it ever starts delivering what you ordered again. Brodie

B.E.Brickey

Attached Files

mike morrison posted this 02 January 2016