New to 35 Remington

• 2K Views
  • Last Post 21 May 2017
john.dejarnette posted this 11 January 2016

Friends Looking for advice on what brass to use with 35 Remington. Also if anyone knows who makes Hornady brass for this caliber and what quality it might be.  I am completely new to this caliber. I bought a used Marlin 336 on a lark. Will use it for deer on our small place. Exclusively with cast bullets.  Brass is hard to come by for this caliber. I have had poor luck with Federal brAss in all rifle calibers.  Thanks for your help PS, if there are pet loads I would certainly be interested.  ThanksJohn 

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
admiral posted this 11 January 2016

I have found that W-W, R-P, or Federal brass (in 35 Rem) all give about the same case life at full power, about 3 firings. I've had some cases get 5-6 firings but that is the exception. Loose primer pockets and neck splits are the norm after an average of 3 firings. I think in low intensity rounds the manufacturers use just enough material for the initial firing for complete safety. After that why would they care? I have 3 rifles in 35 Rem: a 336, Rem 81, & Rem 141. I have 130 once fired brass that are sitting in the cabinet if interested. My go to powder is Reloder 7. I use 30.0 grs. with either an Accurate 35-210B or a LBT 35-210 LCFN. Both are 210 gr. weight and sized .361"

Attached Files

gpidaho posted this 11 January 2016

John: Matt Overadge (Grumpa @ Boolits) reforms 35 Rem from LC 308 brass and does a very nice job of it, also reasonably priced. I've bought some and have loaded them several times for my 35 Handi rifle with no sign of them giving out. 35Rem is one of my favorite cast bullet calibers. Gp

Attached Files

gpidaho posted this 11 January 2016