Hi-Tek Powdered Coating

• 5.7K Views
  • Last Post 16 April 2016
OU812 posted this 24 March 2016

Per instructions, but smaller amount I mixed 1 Tablespoon Hi-Tek powder to 1.75 ozs acetone in small squirt bottle. Put 70 bullets (22 caliber 62 grain LBT) in small plastic drink cup. Squirted a small amount into cup then shook bullets around for 30 seconds until caoated. Let air dry 1 hour on aluminum window screen. Then baked @390 degrees for 10 minutes on window screen.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes

After baking 10 minutes color is Gun Metal...or close to it. Usually 2 coats are required. One more coat is needed. This is my first try.

Attached Files

Here's second coat. Bullets look like Moly coated bullets in indirect light.

Attached Files

OU812 posted this 25 March 2016

I practiced on the LBT bullets first before going to the NOE pointed bullets. I found that to get a more uniform coat you must keep tumbling bullets in cup until all liquid solvent has evaporated.

Attached Files

Doing lots better now. The 2 coats add about .0015-.002 thickness to bullet. Plain base bullet is coated at base to protect much like gas check. I sized the noses of the coated bullets in picture to .221, bands .225.

http://hi-performancebulletcoatings.com/hi-tek-supercoat-powder-7-oz-container/>http://hi-performancebulletcoatings.com/hi-tek-supercoat-powder-7-oz-container/

Attached Files

The LBT bullet on right. Gas check did not have to be flaired to fit...easy snap on without shaving. The long bearing surface section of the LBT requires longer leade/throat. The NOE bore rider requires a very short factory throat. I have a rifle for each. 

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 25 March 2016

sometime..... after you get a baseline it would be interesting to try a single, incomplete coat .