Lee HB 405 in the Marlin?

• 8.8K Views
  • Last Post 17 March 2009
RicinYakima posted this 27 August 2007

I have one of the Lee 405 HB moulds made for the Trapdoors. I am planning my fall casting sessions, and wondered if this was a good bullet for the Marlin 1895's. If it is, I would make a few hundred extra for the Marlin. Does anyone have an experience with these? Thanks, Ric

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 28 August 2007

Ric,

Yah, I bought the mould a while back and was wondering the same thing. Never got a chance my self to try it yet.

Attached Files

JONAH posted this 21 October 2007

I have been using the Lee 405 HB bullet for several years now in my Marlin 1895.  I have been very pleased with it's performance.  My only complaint about the bullet is that I have higher reject rate when casting this bullet than I do when casting other bullets.

Attached Files

WRDSMTH posted this 02 December 2007

I have used the 405 grain Lee HB bullet in both a trapdoor Springfield and an “86 Winchester 45-90 with a one in thirty-two inch twist. It does very well in both guns and is one of the most accurate bullets I use in the Winchester. If the mould is smoked and kept lubricated, I have no more problem with it than any other mould. Those big grooves hold a lot of lube which helps keep the fouling soft in black powder loads. I like the mould so well I bought a spare!

Attached Files

JimmyDee posted this 19 December 2007

I'm about to start using cast bullets in rifles and decided my 45-70 Marlin 1895 a good place to start.  I saw this mould and was wondering....

What sort of alloy are you using?  Lube?  Powder and charge?

Do you have any idea what sort of velocity you're getting?

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 19 December 2007

JimmyDee, I am using half and half WW's and pig lead, mostly, some 30/1 lead and tin. Lube is NRA formula beeswax and Alox. 12 grains of Unique is 1040 f/s and 22 grains of 2400 is 1200 f/s. Ric