Bullets casting smaller than mould Dia.

• 3.8K Views
  • Last Post 16 April 2008
mosinutty posted this 09 April 2008

I am new to bullet casting and casted for the 1st time last weekend. My problem is this, I have a Lyman #314299 .314 Dia. mould. I casted with ingots made of range scrap with no alloy. The Dia. of the cast bullets turned out to be .001 shy at .313. I attached the gas checks and ran the bullets through my .314 sizer to seat the Hornady .30 cal. gas checks. The gas check Dia. is larger than the bullet and when seated into the case is over expanding the case neck and causing the bullets to be very loose in the case. Why is my mould producing under dia. bullets? Will an alloy of harder lead increase the Dia? Will quenching the bullets in water directly from the mould affect the diameter? The bullets looked great and shot quite well but were loose in the case.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 09 April 2008

Mosinutty,

Lyman moulds are rated at their #2 alloy, 90 parts lead, 5 parts tin and 5 parts antimony. Using range scrap which is mostly lead, will lead to smaller bullets.

So, you can increase the tin and antimony, or bump up the bullets if you really need .314". Quelching will not increase the diameter of the bullet. If it shoots good and you aren't rapid firing from the magazine, the loose bullets help groups, as that is a common benchrest shooter's trick to help center the bullet in the bore. If it really bothers you, you can lower the seating die and add .001 crimp, which will tighten the bullet in the case, but will not make it shoot more accurately.

Ric

Attached Files

mosinutty posted this 10 April 2008