Lee Moulds?

• 11K Views
  • Last Post 10 October 2009
barnabus posted this 02 June 2008

Im new to casting as Im still getting my equitment together.I have a RCBS furnance and a sizer and thats it so far.I have always been loyal to RCBS but gosh they sure are proud of their moulds in comparison with everyone else. I want to offer up my needs and my intentions if you will tell me what would be the best route for me to take.

Here goes..I will be casting for 38/357-44mag-45 acp and 45 LC.I am not one who at the moment who shoots pistols alot but would like to shoot more often but jacketed bullets are ridiculus in price. I do not intend to compete with any of these rounds,just looking to shoot more at a reduced cost while having a decent amount of accuracy. At RCBS prices it would put me over $300 for these 4 moulds and top punches ect. Lee moulds are much cheaper.Here is my question..

Would Lee moulds suffice for what I am going to do and what is the difference in quality? I know they are made of aluminium but is this a disadvantage for someone with my interest?

Thanks!

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
jhrosier posted this 02 June 2008

Barnabus,

I will probably be drawn and quartered by the guys who like Lee, however, I buy Lee when I have to and Lyman when I can.... I will take a used Lyman at twice the price of a new Lee because I look at it as both a working tool AND a long term investment. The Lyman moulds stand up well to heavy use for a long time while I find the Lee moulds a little “delicate".

Jack :coffee

Attached Files

CB posted this 02 June 2008