New caster with gas check fit problems

• 2.7K Views
  • Last Post 07 August 2008
Lillard posted this 02 August 2008

I have been reloading since 1988 but new to casting. I have a saeco sizer and pour with a ladle. I use WW to cast 44s from a RCBS 240 gr. swc size to .430 with no problems and they shoot well. I bought a RCBS .458 405 gr. fp gas check for 45 70. I also use WW and size to .459 the gas checks fall off after sizing. Thought about using a .40 cal. case and fine valve grinding compound to enlarge gas check area of mold. Please help. Thanks

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
billwnr posted this 02 August 2008

what brand of gas checks?

What's the diameter of the bullet shank?

Attached Files

Lillard posted this 02 August 2008

Hornady

.424 .425

Attached Files

CB posted this 02 August 2008

Those sizes are within spec so I'd try some different checks or look for some other problem before grinding on the mould. If the problem persists call Hornady and see what they say. 

Attached Files

billwnr posted this 02 August 2008

I doubt .424 and .425 are the shank diameters of your .458 mould.  That's the one your gas checks are falling off I presume?

Attached Files

CB posted this 03 August 2008

billwnr wrote: I doubt .424 and .425 are the shank diameters of your .458 mould.  That's the one your gas checks are falling off I presume? I could be wrong but think .426 is the max shank dia. on 45 caliber moulds.

Attached Files

billwnr posted this 03 August 2008

Pat,  I was expecting something much larger for shank diameter.:shock:

Attached Files

CB posted this 03 August 2008