casting rookie looking for advice

• 3.1K Views
  • Last Post 24 November 2008
MrMusic posted this 12 November 2008

i'm a rookie so this is really a huge question...i'm really asking a all encompassing question.  starting off from scratch, what should i buy?

i'm a bit confused about sizing, particularly dies (.354, .355 & .356 for 9mm?) and punches (i know they come in different shapes based on the projectile you are lubing but that's it).

i have several friends that have volunteered wheel weight lead for me so that shouldn't be a problem (i think).

do i need gas checks on all rifle projectiles?

i really can't spend more then say $500 total on this so i can wait on a few of the molds if i need to, i just want something that will get the job done right.

i've been reloading: 115gr rn 9mm 230gr rn 45ACP 255gr swc 45LC 180gr bt .308WIN (and i'm about to start reloading .40S&W) and my preference is in that order.

thanks in advance!!! MrMusic

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
KenK posted this 12 November 2008

The first thing you need is a means of rendering your wheel weights into a usable form.  A lot of people use a propane turker fryer and a cast iron pot for that.

Then you need to figure out what kind of casting pot to get.  I wouldn't choose to use the above mentioned fryer for casting.

Before you pick sizing diameters you have to decide what kind of sizer (if any) that you want to use.

You can get going for well under $500.

The real first thing you need to do is to start reading.  There is a wealth of information here and on other web sites. 

You could cast usable bullets with nothing more than a cheapo Lee mould and some scrounged/goodwill type equipment.  

This is a pretty good article from someone starting out from scratch.  http://www.realguns.com/archives/055.htm>http://www.realguns.com/archives/055.htm

Also, if you join the Cast Bullet Association you get a free book with a lot of good information in it.

Attached Files