White Label Lube

• 9.2K Views
  • Last Post 16 February 2011
outdoorfan posted this 03 March 2009

I am new to casting, and I want to use White Label Lube because of the excellent price and performance.  However, I could use a little help in choosing which ones would work best for my applications.

I need a lube that will handle speeds up to 2600 fps in two of my rifles.  I'm sure the Carnauba Red is what I want for that. 

I also have a .45 Colt that I run around 1100-1200 fps with a heavy bullet, as well as a .357 that I will be shooting at 1000-1100 or so.  Which lube(s) would be best for these applications?

BTW, I will be pan lubing, if that makes any difference.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
454PB posted this 03 March 2009

The BAC will handle both if everything is right, it's basically 50/50 Alox/beeswax with a little carnauba added. Lars will mix orders if you want to try each blend.

Attached Files

Recluse posted this 03 March 2009

outdoorfan wrote: BTW, I will be pan lubing, if that makes any difference.

This (pan lubing) will probably make it easier in the fact that you won't have to/need to purge any lube from a lubesizer. Instead, I'd just get separate pans from the dollar store--one pan for each brand/style of lube you plan to use.

The carnauba red will probably do you best for the high-velocity rifle stuff. For your slower moving stuff, you might also try his 2500 blend--been hearing excellent things about it.

You might also read up a bit on pan-lubing and get some pointers. I've never had all that great of luck with it until I started pre-heating the boolits, then pouring the melted lube in the pan. I use my Lee push-through sizers afterwards to sort of “squeegee” any excess lube off.

:coffee:

Attached Files

outdoorfan posted this 04 March 2009

Recluse wrote: outdoorfan wrote: BTW, I will be pan lubing, if that makes any difference.