Casting for 7x57

• 9.3K Views
  • Last Post 23 December 2009
BigDaddie posted this 04 October 2009

Hi All,

first post here....I'm a bit of a rookie. I have built a 7x57 sporter that I would like to shoot cast in. The bore is .285” ina lothar walther barrel.

The questions are:

what mould to use? will a 285 mould with #2 alloy work assuming with a little more antimony in there, it casts at 286 or so?

How does one lube this bullet at 286 thru a lubrisizer given that I cant sem to find a die to suit? I'd rather use the lubrisizer if possible.

Thanks in advance

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
KenK posted this 04 October 2009

I would purchase and try a .285 die first.  It's not too hard to polish them out a little bigger if necessary.

Attached Files

BigDaddie posted this 04 October 2009

Thanks Ken.

Could u do that using 1200grit wet dry paper and oil on a mandrel with the drill??

Attached Files

KenK posted this 04 October 2009

A split mandrel and emery cloth is the easiest way to do it but I think 1200 grit is way too fine.  I would start with 400 or so.

Attached Files

runfiverun posted this 04 October 2009

you can do it rolling it forth on your leg with a lee sizer. peg with a slot wet dry paper wrapped around it oil and roll. i am not familiar with what sizes the lee ,lyman etc sells. but i do know that on the cast boolits site you can contact buckskot over there and he will open them up.. the rcbs 145 silhouette should fit your rifle pretty well.

Attached Files

Bob S posted this 05 October 2009

If you're lazy like me, you can get Lee to make whatever size you would like.  It used to be $25, but may be more than that now.  I have a substantial collection of “custom” Lee push-through's.  They work well with jacketed bullets as well, if you use a little Imperial Sizing Wax before pushing them through.  They come in very handy “tuning” jacketed bullets to fit the .309+ groove diameters of a few of my 03A3's.