Wild goose recipe.

• 6.4K Views
  • Last Post 05 October 2012
[email protected] posted this 24 October 2009

The wild goose I've tried is virtually unedible. I've tried different marinades and cooking methods. No matter what I do it tastes like rotten liver and the longer it cooks the tougher and drier it gets. Any suggestions?

We are overun with these darn winged rats. They need thinned out a little but we hate to shoot stuff we can't eat!

Flashman  

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Lillard posted this 25 October 2009

Cut the meat off the bone and in to strips (like chicken fingers). Beat it with a meat hammer, salt, pepper, flour, and fry it tast alot like dove. I do not pick them just skin them I start in the center of the breast and pull the skin down to expose the breast and legs. 

Attached Files

JSH posted this 25 October 2009

Treat it like a tough cut of lean beef. Cooked low and slow. I have been shooting geese(canadas) for 25 years and have only had a few that I deemed nasty. Save the legs and thighs too.

1-2 skinned goose breast What ever your favorite season for beef 1 onion 1 bell pepper 1 can beef broth 1 can beer

Put seasoning on breast (be creative, try what ever you would use on beef). Put breast in roaster bone down slice onion and pepper into strips and rings. Lay these on top of the breast. pour broth and beer in bottom of pan, not over breat. Seal up good with aluminum foil. 9wanting the steam) Bake in the oven at 250-300 for 2-3 hours. Or when meat draws back from the breast bone. Let it rest for 10-20 minutes before removing from bone and slicing. Taste pretty close to beef or venison. Our birds here have a pretty good grain diet, so that may have somthing to do with yours?