Which sizing die for 9mm?

• 6.6K Views
  • Last Post 08 January 2010
MOGWAR posted this 03 January 2010

I am very new at this and have so far only cast some bullets for my 30/30 which worked out well. Now I want to cast some bullets for a glock 9mm and of course I am again stumped on the bullet sizing die, I can only afford the Lee products, I will be using the 102gr. .356 dia. mold, but what sizing die should I use with it, the options are .356, .357, .358. Thanks in advance for any help.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Ed Harris posted this 04 January 2010

Upset a throat slug and measure the diameter immediately ahead of the chamber. In most 9mm barrels this dimension will be .358-.359. In some it may be as large as .360. I have not seen a 9mm barrel with a throat smaller than .357. For most 9mm pistols a .358 bullet works fine, but the often recommended .355-.356 is a sure receipe for heavy bore leading.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

MOGWAR posted this 04 January 2010

I think for now I will stick with what I know until I get more experiance. But I am wondering, can bullets not be made for general purpose for most firearms? For example, what if I had ten 9mm handguns of all different kinds, could I not create a bullet that would work in all of them or would I have to make a specific bullet for each gun?

Attached Files

Duane Mellenbruch posted this 04 January 2010

That is why it is important to determine the measurements of the barrel as was already suggested.  Since there are a variety of fireams involved, you could expect a variety of sizes as well.