sizing for revolver?

• 4.2K Views
  • Last Post 11 July 2013
wazza2222 posted this 19 April 2011

Hi all

Here we go... I am pretty new to casting and my experience with revolvers extends to creating 265gr hollow base slugs for my Webley .455 I don't size these as the cylinder does the job for me and the skirt then flares to catch the rifling in the barrel.

I am now onto my second project which is 160gr rn slugs out of a Colt Police Positive in 38S&W calibre. Having slugged the barrel (.335!!!) I am sizing my cast boolits to .355 in a Lyman 450. My question is: Should I be sizing at all or is the cylinder supposed to be doing this for me like the Webley does?

Cheers

Wazza

P.S. the sized boolits drop into the cylinder but stop on the driving bands as I believe they should?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 19 April 2011

If it were I, I would size the bullet to just be a push fit in the cylinder throat. This has worked the best for me in making accurate loads.

Attached Files

wazza2222 posted this 19 April 2011

Thanks mate,

I think thats what is happening here if i read you right... my boolits stop with the ogive showing out of the cylinders front face but firmly caught by the driving bands at the rear.

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 19 April 2011

That should be just right. Ric

Attached Files

Ed Harris posted this 20 April 2011

Most cast bullets designed for the .38 Special will work just fine in the .38 S&W if cast soft, 8-10 BHN and loaded as-cast and unsized at .359-.360 when tumble-lubed with Lee Liquid Alox. My favorite in these is the Saeco #348 double-end, bevel-based wadcutter, seated out and crimped in in the lube groove, rather than in a crimping groove, with 2.7-2.8 grs. of Bullseye, gives normal .38 wadcutter ballistics.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

wazza2222 posted this 20 April 2011