reloading equipment for .45-70 black power?

• 2.1K Views
  • Last Post 24 October 2011
leadlober posted this 19 October 2011

I found a “temporary fix” for my .45-70 craving at the local gun show when a H&R 1871 Bufffalo Classic followed me home. My reasoning was I would “get up to speed” on this less pricey rifle and assemble the components, tools and experience needed for reloading BP, and be more confident making the purchase of a vintage rifle. Well, that lasted 2 whole days after finding a nice vintage Trapdoor Springfield yesterday. I do have some questions and I know there are many opinions about one brand over another but, since I have to buy a new set, are there reloading die sets which will work better for .45-70 BP cartridges? Adding a compression die is a must? Other needed dies? Sorry if I missed the answer in searching the forum. I am new to BP and have handgun reloading experience but never loaded for rifle. I have some store-bought 300 and 405 gr. bullets already. I plan to load for target shooting on a rockchucker press and cast my own bullets when I figure out which bullet(s) work for my rifle(s). Thanks! Leadlober

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Notlwonk posted this 19 October 2011

An excellent book is “Loading Cartridges For The Original 45-70 Springfield Rifle And Carbine” by J.S. & Pat Wolf.

A compression die and also a neck expander that is a tad larger than typical expanders. The larger expanders will prevent reducing the dia. of a soft bullet when seating. Available from Buffalo or Track of the Wolf.

The store bought bullets may be a problem, they are often too hard. They should be cast of 20:1 to 40:1 alloy to expand and fill the bore properly.

Attached Files

leadlober posted this 19 October 2011