What brand reloading dies for 44-40?

• 2.4K Views
  • Last Post 16 July 2012
cbshtr posted this 29 January 2012

I'm getting ready to start loading for my wife's 1894 in 44-40 and was wondering what dies work best. I will be using cast bullets at .431 to .432 diameter. I have been using Lee dies but am not sure if they will expand the cases for that diameter. Also, what is the maximum length of a loaded round that will feed thru the 1894 action? This is my first time loading for the smaller Marlin action. Thanks.

Robert Homan

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 29 January 2012

None of them will expand for larger than 0.427” bullets. The best for cast bullets is the RCBS Cowboy dies, as they are designed for cast bullets. I have very limited experience with Lee dies, and that experience was poor, but you may just have to get a Lyman expander for not less than 0.001” smaller than the bullet you want to use. HTH, Ric

Attached Files

99 Strajght posted this 29 January 2012

I have a set of Lee dies for the 44-40 and have never had any problems with reloading cast. The Lee dies don't size down as much as the RCBS dies do so the cases last longer. In fact with my 45 Colt, I only get 1 or 2 reloads with my RCBS dies before the cases crack. With my Lee dies the cases last forever. Glenn

Attached Files

RicinYakima posted this 29 January 2012

Glenn,

That is why I said RCBS “Cowboy” dies. I have gotten rid of all of the regular RCBS pistol dies, especially the carbide ones, made after about 1970. They sized too small, didn't expand the neck enough and were made to crimp a jacketed bullet.

Ric

Attached Files

99 Strajght posted this 29 January 2012

That must be my problem with my RCBS dies. Thank You Glenn

Attached Files

giorgio de galleani posted this 31 January 2012

I have a lot of Lee dies and some of the Rcbs dies.

No problem with their  powder trough exp dies,in pistols and straignt case rifles.