Range lead

• 2.9K Views
  • Last Post 24 January 2020
noseyrosey posted this 20 March 2012

I'm new to casting. I will be starting with 45acp and 12 gauge. I have come across a deal to get some range lead lead and was wondering if 60lbs for 85$ is worth it and safe to use for a 45 and 12 gauge?

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 20 March 2012

if it is in clean ingots that price is OK. If it needs to be melted, cleaned,fluxed and poured into ingots it is far from a bargain and worth much less.

Gary

Attached Files

Tom Acheson posted this 20 March 2012

Heard this comment at this past weekend's gun show...."watch out recovering range lead from the berm. Handling and scooping up the sand to sift it to sort out the lead will expose you to fine air borne lead particulate which you will breathe and is extremely hazardous, as much as striking a sprue plate when casting but not as bad as smoking flux from the lead pot".

FWIW

Tom

Attached Files

Ed Harris posted this 20 March 2012

I get range lead for $10 per 5 gallon bucket and agree to give them the skimmed copper back, they sell to a scrapper. I glean a bucketful of jackets for each 4-5 buckets of scrap. Ten 60-lb. buckets of scrap yields about 500 pounds of ingots and uses 10 lbs. of propane to melt.  Stuff casts about like wheelweights 10-11 BHN, makes good revolver  bullets as is.  Blend 5 lbs. ingot of commercial 92-6-2 “hardball” alloy to 14-15 lbs. of scrap to top off pot for .45 ACP and GC rifle bullets for about 13-13.5 BHN. Never tried in a shotmaker.

73 de KE4SKY In Home Mix We Trust From the Home of Ed's Red in "Almost Heaven" West Virginia

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • M3 Mitch
RicinYakima posted this 20 March 2012

Tom, Along the same lines, the world ends this year according to the Myan Calinder, so why worry? Same type of BS. Ric

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • M3 Mitch
onondaga posted this 20 March 2012

Tom Acheson: