How many reloads from new cases?

• 7.5K Views
  • Last Post 14 April 2017
CB posted this 12 May 2012

Approximately how many reloads it is it reasonable to expect out of new cases with the moderate pressures of most cast bullet loads.

What is your experience?

That type of failure is most common?

When do you throw the whole batch away and buy more?

How much will annealing extend case life and how often should it be done -- if at all?

John

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
LWesthoff posted this 12 May 2012

When I started shooting cast bullets, I was necksizing with standard full-length sizing dies backed off enough that they did not size the case body, and then using a Lyman “M” die to expand/bell the neck. I was getting neck splits at anywhere from 6 to ten reloads.

Now I use a Lee collet die to neck size, and the Lee belling die to open the case mouth the absolute minimum needed to get a bullet started. I don't know how many reloads I can get with this method, because I haven't lost any cases from neck splits yet - but it's a heck of a lot more than ten!

I don't like Lee molds, and I've had some bad machining on some of their dies, but I think that collet die is the best idea Lee ever had.

Incidentally, I do not anneal case necks. Don't seem to need to, because I'm not working the necks enough to work harden them.

Works for me.

Wes

Attached Files

Michael K posted this 12 May 2012

Hi John,