Help Unburnt Powder In my 44-40!

• 7.5K Views
  • Last Post 25 March 2009
44-40 posted this 15 March 2007

Using a Model 94 winchester, 11 gr of Blue Dot, 200 gr jacketed bullet, winchester cases& primers. When Fired it leaves powder in barrel and chamber. Bullets are seated to Min overall length as per lee loader manual and I am using max crimp on my factory crimp Die. Help. Not sure what to do next.Maybe try reducing amount of powder slightly to till i find it burns all of it.I am new to this hobby and this is my first try at reloading.

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
R. Dupraz posted this 15 March 2007

44-40:

Have never had a 44-40 but have loaded and shot a lot of rounds in other pistol and rifle calibers. Your problem suggests to me that blue dot burns too slow for your 200 gr. bullet. Whenever this has happened to me,I just switched to a faster burning powder.

I must add though, over the years I have loaded some pistol calibers with powder that left a few unburned grains in the bore. The same with shot shells. But the loads shot good and the very small amount of unburned powder was never a problem, so I kept on using the load.

You write of maybe reducing the amount of powder. What does your manual say? I would never reduce the powder below the minimum charge that your manual shows for that cal.,powder and bullet weight.

R.Dupraz

Attached Files

CB posted this 15 March 2007

44-40,

From my experiences, dropping your powder charge is not going to work. You need a higher powder charge to get an increase in burn efficiency. A couple of us at Windhill use 13gr of Blue Dot in about any .30 caliber rifle cartridge with a medium weight bullet of 180gr to 200gr. Your 94 Winchester should handle the load with no problem. Watch for high pressure signs and you could probably go on up to around a 15gr load of Blue Dot.