Benchrest 50 caliber Inline RB match rifle ?

• 3.1K Views
  • Last Post 26 September 2012
linoww posted this 23 September 2012

<font="arial">Just got one and its set up for patched RB.It's about 14# and has a 1.125"x 36” 1-70 barrel.Not much info on these.What does anybody know about them? George

"if it was easy we'd let women do it" don't tell my wife I said that!

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 23 September 2012

Use the softest pure lead. There are formulas for determining optimum patch thickness but “feel” and cloth quality is really just as important.

Patch lube is a never ending discussion. Find what works for you and does not effect powder.

The rest is just having a slick hard shined bore, finding what your rifle likes and marksmanship.

Gary

Attached Files

I have my other ML's shooting ball very well with not alot of work other than a tight fitting patch ball combo.When i started shooting ML's seriously more than a year or so ago much of the info i got ended up being wivestales.Like-"fast twist wont shoot RB” My 1-32” conical gun that shoots patched RB with 100g charges as well any slow “RB twist” guns I have seen.Or “weighed RB's shoot 1” smaller groups at 50 yards” I intentionally damaged/drilled them and actually got smaller groups.With this rifle i can use real match sights or scope and see smaller difference(i hope anyway)

I also hear rumor the BR roundball guys shoot huge loads of 150 or more powder.I also have heard teflon used with the patching also.I hope some one here has used one of these and has a few tricks of the trade.

George

Attached Files

Ed Harris posted this 23 September 2012