Knife Sharpening

• 6.1K Views
  • Last Post 16 January 2013
CB posted this 18 November 2012

Since I wuz a kid I've been fascinated by knives and always wanting the best edge. I worked in a factory for 32 years using a knife everyday. To this day the best sharpening system I've used (without power tools) is the Lansky Sharpening kit.

I just finished sharpening my 2-blade locking Kershaw pocket knife this afternoon and my butcher knife and 2 utility kitchen knives. Easily done and purtty near close to a razor edge.

I use the higher priced diamond stones cause they do not wear in-even like the actual stone material ones. I so finish with a black hard Arkansas stone.......Dan

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 18 November 2012

Dan, I completely agree with you on the Lansky system . Not sure if the old guy is still around but Lansky is local to me and was a fixture in most local gun shows for decades here in Western New York.

His diamonds are fabulous.

For many years , I had a second home job, on call,  for a number of surgeons and sharpened surgical instruments. So, I have a collection of small stones and know how to use them on shaped blades to get them eye surgery sharp.. For my own knives, I use Lansky since before they came on the market and were only a local family business in WNY because the kits will set and sharpen a  bevel more consistently than anything I have ever used with my 2 hands.

Gary

Attached Files

Wayne S posted this 18 November 2012

+2 for the Lansky for my specialty kitchen knives , but for general kitchen duty I prefer what I call  the yo-yo sharpener because it looks like a yo-yo, a semi course stone with beveled metal on each side and then rubber wheels on each side, II\ll//II simple put the blade in the bevel, roll it back & forth a few times, switch side, repeat , and you have ruff cut cutting edge.

Attached Files

Pigslayer posted this 18 November 2012