Alloying what I have on hand

• 2.8K Views
  • Last Post 01 April 2013
Lead weight posted this 29 March 2013

OK, I'm finding that I have a lot more to learn than I realized, since coming on board!

I'm new to all the “mathematical” equations folk use here, so I'll get to the point...

I have: 22 pounds of Linotype 9 pounds of wheel-weight 25 pounds of pure/soft lead All of this is in 1 pound ingots.

I have no lead hardness tester, don't even have a thermometer to know exact heat in the pot at any given time.

I need someone to tell me in dumb welder lingo (plain English) how much to mix Lyno, WW, PL, that I have for the following loads: .38 spl, and/or .45 acp at 750-800 fps .357 mag and/or 9mm Luger in the 1100+ fps range.

Thanks to good advice from members here, I have been in contact with Roto Metals, and plan on ordering from them SOON!

Kevin

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
onondaga posted this 30 March 2013

http://www.castbulletassoc.org/view_user.php?id=7304>Lead weight:

Just a little more info from you would help a lot.

Is your wheel weight from clip on or stick-on wheelweights?

Stick-on WW should be treated as pure lead and is usually about 6-8 BHN,   and clip-on WW is usually BHN 10-11.

Also,  will you be using plain base bullets and/or gas checked bullets in which caliber and load level.  Selecting an alloy is closely related to load pressure in psi and velocity is much less important and of little help selecting your alloys due to the variety of pressure levels achieved by different powders for a specific velocity. List your load pressures in psi for the loads you hope shoot cast. List pressures for both plain based bullet loads and gas checked loads.

If you will be using gas checked bullets on the higher pressure loads, it is likely that one alloy will be suitable for all your pistol loads and likely about BHN  11-12 .