9mm mould suggestions.

• 6.2K Views
  • Last Post 24 December 2013
adrians posted this 17 September 2013

Evening folks, I am about to embark on a new adventure ,, that being casting for my wife's 9mm revolver.

I have been casting for long guns for a few years now but hand guns :wow:

I'm not fishing for load data , (that's what my manuals are for) but suggestions for a decent plinking bullet.

I have the Lee 9mm mould and also the Ideal 358156 ,,, maybe I need go no further,,, but it's nice to have input from you folks who know what's what as far as the 9mm goes.

The revolver was slugged but I can't remember off hand the size but I want to say the Lee was too small ,, iirc.

Thanks and have a wonderful night,,, :hunt::taz:

p.s the gun is a Ruger sp101....:thinking:

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
argie1891 posted this 17 September 2013

I haven't loaded for a 9mm revolver but the lyman 147 gr. bullet is hard to beat. in simi auto pistols it will provide enough energy to work the action at a velocity low enough to not lead. my first experience with the 9mm was with a 100 gr bullet for the 380 auto wow I had to get it up to a speed that leaded the heck out of my ruger p-95. it did shoot well but I am not a fan of scrubbing lead from a barrel. argie1891

if you think you have it figured out then you just dont understand

Attached Files

PETE posted this 17 September 2013

Adrians,

Funny you should ask at this point in time. I wanted a nice light bullet to shoot in my 9mm Glock. What I'm using is an NOE 358242 92 gr RN. At 50 ft., off the bench it'll keep them all in the black. Should be a nice light recoiling bullet for your wife.

Pete

Attached Files

99 Strajght posted this 17 September 2013