German Schuetzen Style Rifle - 8.15x46 Norm

• 1.9K Views
  • Last Post 28 August 2021
Norman1950 posted this 19 October 2020

New Member here from Idaho. Last week my father gifted me some old family guns. One of them happens to be a German Schuetzen style (from my research) chambered in 8.15x46 NORM. The gun is in excellent condition and looks like it has hardly been shot if at all. I was doing some cleaning on it and still had the cosmoline around the falling block and down the barrel. 

I was able to do a cerrosafe chamber cast on it yesterday. From what I could tell is the rifling is .316 after the cerrosafe has hardened. Would I be safe to say that it would want a .316 cast bullet to shoot? The head of the bullet is showing to be .498, the same as the 30-30 ammo I have. I still need to order reloading dies to form the 30-30 cases.

I am new to this style of rifle and have had fun researching what I can about the rifle. It has the "B" "U" "G" marks along with 8.11 / 263. Then vertical numbers 6476 on the barrel and on the receiver, i don't have a clue what those would be for. Also, there is an "R" above these stampings and 172,28 numbers stamped. I don't know how to tell who the manufacture of this rifle is. I have noticed that I am missing the front sight, any ideas of where to get a "period correct" sight?

It has been told by my family that my grandpa brought it home from WWII, but you know how family stories go...

Any insights that anyone has would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Spindrift
  • Bud Hyett
Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Bud Hyett

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 19 October 2020

welcome to the group ...

i can't offer much specifically, except that i bet you are going to have a lot of fun with that rifle ...   as they say, i suspect it has some good stories to tell ...

... and keep us up on your progress ...

ken

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Norman1950