Heavy Hunting Bullets In 30-30 Win.

• 1.6K Views
  • Last Post 10 November 2019
mashburn posted this 04 July 2019

As I've stated several times before, I'm a old gun builder, hunter and have reloaded for over 50 years. But my reloading other than handguns has been mostly with jacketed bullets. My interests have changed and I'm into cast rifle bullets, mostly from the hunting aspect. I don't claim to be a great white hunter but I've killed more than my share of Deer and I have killed deer with more different calibers than most people have ever thought about. However when I face a new challenge I'm not afraid to ask for advice. My question is: how heavy of a bullet can you shoot in a 30-30 Win and get good dependable accuracy, I'm not talking about little plinking loads, I'm talking about hunting loads. When I'm loading cast hunting rounds I always use GC's.

The forum has been pretty slow here lately so lets hear from some of you people who have much more experience than I do and get some activity going..I've read All of The Famous Frank's advice so I think I'm probably on the right track

Mashburn.

David a. Cogburn

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
RicinYakima posted this 04 July 2019

Two issues with 30/30: short throat and 1/12 twist. While I can shoot 210 grain 311284 from my Savage 99, it doesn't work with lever guns. One of my gunny friends uses the RCBS 180 grain FP with either 2/2 (tin and antimony) or 16/1 tin and gets good expansion with full loads of 3031 or 4895. FWIW

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • Bud Hyett

Hello RiicinYakima

Thanks for the response and info. I figured that I would be faced with that problem. I have purchased  170 & a180 gr. GC molds.  I would like to find a 200 gr mold that will work if possible. I've had good luck with RL7 powder in .375 caliber cast lead. In his writings Frank gives a lot of loading info for this type of cartridge and rifle.Thanks for the alloy information also.

Mashburn

David a. Cogburn