I like this 327

• Last Post 10 February 2020
delmarskid posted this 23 January 2020

I am really starting to love this 327 Federal Magnum. I have a pair of single seven Tigers . One is a stainless 7 1/2" and the other is a blued bisley with a 5" barrel. I started shooting with American Eagle 100 g factory to get some brass. O was immediately impressed with the tight groups, ease of making hits, flat trajectory and horrendous noise! These things are right up there with a Ruger 30 carbine for high pitched eargershplittin . Since then I have added a 105g semi-wadcutter and a 135g wide flat mosef bullet. I put the 105's over 3.5g of bullseye and the 135's run nice over 11.5 of W296 . I use small rifle primers with both. The recoil with the heavy bullet is about like a loaded down .357 mag . The 105 is a sweetheart . The 135s sre sighted to hit 6" high at 50 yards and appear to be nearly on at 150. We have good snow cover here so I could check lateral dispersement fairly easily. I had about a foot at 150 yards. Off of a rest I was getting about 5" at 50 yards with some of the group under 2".
I would love to see this cartridge in a nice single shot rifle.

Attached Files

• Liked by
  • TRKakaCatWhisperer
Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
DBW posted this 10 February 2020

delmarskid,

Does Henry have a custom shop that would take an unchambered thirty thirty bbl for their single shot and chamber it for the 

threetwentyseven using a twotwentythree ejector? Just a thought........DBW

Attached Files

delmarskid posted this 29 January 2020

I got a prompt response from Henry and it was no. They don't ship any incomplete products for liability reasons .

Attached Files

Ken Campbell Iowa posted this 29 January 2020