New to reloading, cast bullet question 357 mag

• Last Post 18 November 2020
  • Topic Is Solved
Adambomb79 posted this 27 October 2020

Ok, I'm new to reloading( just joined this forum) and I will primarily be reloading for 357 mag and 38 special in both lever gun and revolver. I've been buying a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. I am confident I can safely load up some stuff just going by excact data in my manuals etc, particularly with jacketed bullets. But trying to find data on some of these cast bullets is daunting. For instance: I recently bought a swc with gas check 165 from Matt's bullets. It looked like a good one, and the reviews were good, but can't find a 165 grain anything anywhere for data. There is data on the that site for a similar bullet, same grains using h110 (I have that powder)...but it's not published data. So then I look up data for 170gr jacketed, a 170gr Keith linotype and 158gr lead with gascheck, the variance is all over the map. I'm told you don't want to go under on h110 and you don't have much room to work with to go max pressure. So I don't even know what a starting load would be for 165gr. Any thoughts on this would be helpful. Thanks

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
Bud Hyett posted this 27 October 2020

You are right to check several sources. I go to the next heavier bullet and work from there. Jacketed bullets have more friction in a barrel than cast and this adds a little to the pressure. The loads shown in the reloading manuals will vary because the firearms vary and the laboratory conditions vary. I go to the powder manufacturer to see what they say. They've done the testing of their powder under strictly controlled conditions. When we add in the liability factor from the corporate attorney, the loads are possibly factored down a little.