Favorite Target Molds?

• 2.7K Views
  • Last Post 13 March 2009
Rumplestiltskin posted this 26 February 2009

I am brand new to bullet casting and wondering what everyone's favorite molds seem to have in common. I don't do much hunting at all and most of these rounds will be shot at the range so I'm mainly concerned about accuracy. I would also like to try standard cast iron molds vs. the Lee aluminum molds. I'll be shooting .308 through a Rem 700 and .357 through Taurus 686 4” revolver. So, what are a few good molds that ya'll would recommend I pick up?  

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
CB posted this 26 February 2009

Probably my top pick for 30 caliber is the Saeco 315 in 170gr. It'll fit in about any 30 caliber factory rifle or milsurp rifle and shoot well. I like the Lyman 311299 for a 200gr cb, one I've shot since I started casting. For a moderately priced mold, I am happy with the Lee mold in the little 150gr for the Russian 7.62 cb. The little cb has been a real hoot.

I like a full 148gr wad-cutter in the 357. Load it down with 4.5gr of Bullseye and shoot it all day with great 25yd accuracy. Like me and most of us here, your list will keep expanding always wanting to try something else to cast and something else to shoot....;)..............Dan

Attached Files

linoww posted this 26 February 2009

"I'll be shooting .308 through a Rem 700"

I really like the RCBS 180sp in the 308.

George

"if it was easy we'd let women do it" don't tell my wife I said that!

Attached Files

Rumplestiltskin posted this 26 February 2009

Wow, you guys are fast.Thanks for the quick replies. Funny you should mention the Russian 7.62, as that is the other rifle I shoot, though I don't have reloading dies for it yet. Any idea how the 7.62 cb shoots through AK style rifles? Thanks again guys, I'll definitely check out those molds. Anyone else got suggestions?

Attached Files

PETE posted this 26 February 2009