Looking to buy my first press

• 5K Views
  • Last Post 01 September 2009
amb1935 posted this 28 August 2009

I'm looking to buy my first press.  I don't really know what to buy.  I've been looking around online a lot recently.  I really like Lee products, but the Lee Classic Loader takes a bit too much time to reload my 9mm.  I was wondering if any of you gentlemen had some suggestions for which  press to go with.  Single stage? Turret? Any information would be very appreciated.  I've been reloading for a few months now, and I love it!  Thanks. -Aaron

Attached Files

Order By: Standard | Newest | Votes
tturner53 posted this 28 August 2009

There's a lot of good single stage presses, it would probably be hard to get a bad one, in my experience. Here's an option; mostly I use my old Hornady single, but I have a Lee Hand Press that I can use while sitting in my lounge chair. I can process a hundred pistol cases ready to load in an evening with no sweat while I'm watching cartoons.

Attached Files

hunterspistol posted this 28 August 2009

Sir, I have no experience with Lee products.  I can tell you that most presses fall into 4 categories, cast iron, cast alloy (aluminum and magnesium), standard leverage and compound leverage.

I learned about reloading operating a Lyman TMag Turret press and #55 Powder measure.  The T-Mag is cast iron, I think. It's a good setup, I didn't have any trouble with it.  It takes a stiff push to seat bullets but, having nothing to compare it with, I never noticed.

Then, I got a Rock Chucker. This big cast iron thing with a 1” ram and compound leverage will crush a 22 Hornet case with ease. I'm guilty of reloading with 2 fingers on the lever that seats bullets.  RCBS and Redding have their merits but, sometimes it's a bit like owning a Cadillac just to drive to the post office, too much machine.